History of back-to-back Super Bowl winners

History of back-to-back Super Bowl winners

The NFL will need to keep waiting to see back-to-back Super Bowl champions. The Tampa Bay Buccaneers ended the Kansas City Chiefs‘ attempt at doing so with a 31 -9 victory in Super Bowl2021

Let’s have a look back at the history of repeat Super Bowl winners.

1966-67 Green Bay Packers (Super Bowls 1 & 2)

It is no coincidence that the trophy offered to the NFL champ is named after Vince Lombardi, one of the league’s famous coaches and the guy that led the Packers to victory in the very first two Super Bowls. (Naturally, at that time it wasn’t referred to as the Super Bowl, however rather the “AFL-NFL Championship Game.”) Lombardi’s last video game as Packers coach was the victory in Super Bowl 2, ending an incredible nine-season career during which his teams won 5 NFL championships, including the abovementioned two Super Bowls.

1972-73 Miami Dolphins (Super Bowls 7 & 8)

The 1972 Dolphins remain the only group in NFL history to finish a season with an unbeaten record, topping off their perfect campaign with a 14 -7 win over Washington in Super Bowl 7. The Dolphins went 12 -2 during the 1973 regular season and rolled through the playoffs, winning each of its 3 postseason games by 17 points.

1974-75 Pittsburgh Steelers (Super Bowls 9 & 10) & 1978-79 Pittsburgh Steelers (Super Bowls 13 & 14)

The 1970 s Steelers are thought about one of the most dominant groups in professional football history, winning four Super Bowl titles in a six-season period. With this incredible run, the franchise developed itself as one of the league’s primary dynasties– following in the footsteps of the 1940 s Chicago Bears, 1950 s’ Cleveland Browns, and the 1960 s Packers.

1988-89 San Francisco 49 ers (Super Bowls 23 & 24)

An offensive juggernaut led by Joe Montana and Jerry Rice, San Francisco began its run of back-to-back titles with a narrow 20-16 win over the Cincinnati Bengals in Super23 The 49 ers then effectively protected their champion with a 55-10 blowout of the Denver Broncos one year later, the biggest margin of success in Super Bowl history.

1992-93 Dallas Cowboys (Super Bowls 27 & 28)

Powered by the vibrant trio of Troy Aikman, Michael Irvin and Emmitt Smith, the Cowboys dismantled the Buffalo Bills in Super Bowl 27 by a 52-17 score to win the franchise’s very first ring considering that the late 1970 s. Dallas suffered through the inevitable Super Bowl hangover at the start of the 1993 season, dropping its first 2 games, prior to cruising to another NFC East title and a 30-13 success over the Expenses in the huge game for the 2nd straight year.

1997-1998 Denver Broncos (Super Bowls 32 & 33)

The Broncos were the first AFC group to repeat as Super Bowl winners since the 1970 s Steelers, beating the Packers for their very first title and the Atlanta Falcons for their second one. John Elway topped his Hall of Fame career in storybook style, winning the MVP award in his final video game on Feb. 1, 1999 following the Broncos’ 34-19 success in Super Bowl 33.

2003-04 New England Patriots (Super Bowls 38 & 39)

The Patriots established themselves as the NFL’s latest dynasty with three Super Bowl wins in 4 years throughout the early 2000 s, consisting of back-to-back titles following the 2003-04 seasons.

Find Out More

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top